If you’re like me, sometimes at night you like to drive with no intended destination or purpose. You get in the car, and you just go. These are usually special moments where I can reflect, ponder or pray, but most of the time I just love to listen to music. If you get to know me, you will eventually learn at least one certain thing about me; my love for music. Music is such a deep and intrinsic part of me, when I get back to my apartment, I don’t flip on the TV, I go straight to my iTunes or CD collection and fill my place with music. Does anyone really relax with a TV? I highly doubt it, sure, there are movies and programs that move us, but I guarantee that behind these programs is a good music soundtrack.

Some people treat music like a bag of chips, when they’re finished with them, they just crinkle up the bag and throw it away in the trash can and move on to the next “treat”, forgetting what it was they just consumed. To treat music like this is just heinous. It hurts to see that music can even be effected by our innate lusts and non-fulfilling consumerism tendencies. So today, sit back and savor a song. I know it’s tempting, but go out and search for music, don’t just let yourself be spoon fed by your car radio. Think critically about what you are listening to, and avoid potato chip consumerism. Alright, now that you know a significant part of my identity, I am going to share with you some music which is currently in my iPod.

This is Sigur Ros, a band from Iceland. They’re not like most musicians, they hold to their native tongue, and yet they have incorporated a different language that they themselves have created and call “hopelandic”. As for a genre, it could be broadly placed under alternative, but a band like this deserves to be in its own specific category. Therefore, I dub them ambient- atmospheric indie, as you listen, to the below music videos, you’ll soon figure why I place them in this genre. Thanks for reading, and thanks for taking interest in something that is important to me.

“Hoppipolla”

“Untitled #4”

