Rick Ritchie contributor to Modern Reformation Magazine and author of Old Solar sheds a new light on the proper Christian understanding of Baptism and how it led him to Lutheranism. Here is an excerpt below:

When I read the Reformers, I found them taking a mediating position that I did not expect. They did not separate Baptism from salvation like those I had grown up with. They would have been shocked by the “I’ll get around to it someday” approach that is so common. Yet they were clear that faith in Christ was saving without regard to Baptism. About this time I heard the line, “It is not the absence of Baptism that damns, but the despising of it.” I also heard the argument: “You can’t look at this like a Greek who is saved at one point only. You have to think like a Hebrew who says ‘I have been saved, I am being saved, and I will be saved.'” If Baptism follows faith, then it saves the saved. If faith is kindled by Baptism, then it saves the lost. This way of thinking does justice to the text without sacrificing the teaching of salvation by grace alone.

For more on this post, travel over to a Old Solar

