Found this over at New Reformation Press, hope you enjoy.

Sock to 'em

Here’s the description the site offers:

Weak On Sanctification T-Shirt

Lutherans often get accused of having no doctrine of sanctification.
As hard as it is to believe, some would rather focus on their good works rather than on what Christ has done for them, putting the cart before the horse, as it were.
To this the true Lutherans have always confessed that good works are the fruit of their salvation and that Saint Paul strongly encourages us to look to Christ, rather to our good works. (Hebrews 12:1b-2a, let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith)

As hard as we brothers in the faith may try, we always fall short of the good works which we are commanded to do and strive to do. As Saint Paul says in Romans 7:14-19:
For we know that the law is spiritual, but I am of the flesh, sold under sin. I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate. Now if I do what I do not want, I agree with the law, that it is good. So now it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out. For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing.
That was a bit long to fit on a shirt, but we did include Romans 4:5 on the back, which is a little more succinct:
And to the one who does not work but trusts him who justifies the ungodly, his faith is counted as righteousness…

I like the idea of this shirt. It’s got three things going for it:

1. It’s humorous, and I think “chic”.

2. It is a succinct slap in the face to those who mock our view of sanctification.

3. Of all the Christian T-shirts ever made, this one provides the greatest opportunity to offer a witness to both struggling Christians and to the lost.

In Summary:

There are still 8 days left in the 12 days of Christmas, and if anyone would like to buy this for me, I would be much obliged. Here’s the link!

Drunkenness is next to the worst thing I know. The worst is self-righteousness. If I had to choose, I would rather be a drunk hired man at Osterby fair than to sit self-righteous and self-satisfied at a pious coffee party“.
-Bo Giertz, “The Hammer of God”

…to be converted means to take refuge in grace. It is to believe in Jesus, in Jesus only. It is a salvation for sinners. There is no other salvation“.
-Bo Giertz

