My name from the palms of his hands, eternity will not erase; impressed on his heart it remains, in marks of indelible grace.”
– Augustus Toplady

John 20: 24-28

Now Thomas, one of the Twelve, was not with the disciples when Jesus came. So the other disciples told him, “We have seen the Lord!” But he said to them, “Unless I see the nail marks in his hands and put my finger where the nails were, and put my hand into his side, I will not believe it.” A week later his disciples were in the house again, and Thomas was with them. Though the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, “Peace be with you!” Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here; see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe.” Thomas said to him, “My Lord and my God!”

Isaiah 49: 14-16

“But Zion said, ‘The LORD has forsaken me;
my Lord has forgotten me.’
‘Can a woman forget her nursing child,
that she should have no compassion on the son of her womb?
Even these may forget,
yet I will not forget you.
Behold, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands;
your walls are continually before me.”

Truly the gospel is not a passing fad. Isaiah is drawing a contrast with the pagan worshippers who would often carve the name of their “god” into their own palms – the throbbing pain a constant reminder of their devotion!

While our God needs no reminders, the image does serve to remind us of the nature of the gospel. Pagan worship (much of it practiced in the name of Christ by the way!) is all about trying to get the “gods” to notice you… but the gospel is that God took notice of us when we were without hope, that He “pitied us while enemies,” and then inflicted incalculable pain upon himself so that we would never be forsaken or forgotten!
– Rev. Kevin Twit “Indelible Grace: Album 1″

See from His head, His hands, His feet,
Sorrow and love flow mingled down!
Did e’er such love and sorrow meet,
Or thorns compose so rich a crown?
Amen.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Hymn for meditation:

The Gospel is Good News Indeed

The gospel is good news indeed,
To sinners deep in debt;
The man who has no works to plead,
Will thankful be for it.

To know that when he’s nought to pay,
His debts are all discharged,
Will make him blooming look as May,
And set his soul at large.

How gladly does the prisoner hear,
What gospel has to tell!
‘Tis perfect love that casts out fear,
And brings him from his cell.

The man that feels his guilt abound,
And knows himself unclean,
Will find the gospel’s joyful sound,
Is welcome news to him.

-William Gadsby (1773-1884)

