I found this on Youtube last night, and I couldn’t resist posting it. It’s a Florida Christian “Choir” singing about the freedom humans have in choosing God. Whether you agree with decision theology or not, one must agree that this song is a horrible way to articulate the point (key in on the “:49” second mark).

As for me, I side with Luther’s meaning of the 3rd article of the Apostle’s Creed: “I believe that I cannot by my own understanding or effort believe in Jesus Christ my Lord, or come to him. But the Holy Spirit has called me through the Gospel…” Now listen to “My Lord, I Did Not Choose You” and hear the refreshing message of God’s grace towards us in Christ.

My Lord, I did not choose You
Written by Josiah Conder

My Lord, I did not choose You,
For that could never be;
My heart would still refuse You,
Had You not chosen me.
You took the sin that stained me,
You cleansed me, made me new;
Of old You have ordained me,
That I should live in You.

Unless Your grace had called me
And taught my op’ning mind,
The world would have enthralled me,
To heav’nly glories blind.
My heart knows none above You;
For Your rich grace I thirst;
I know that if I love You,
You must have loved me first.

