Why I like it: I love the introspection and the brokeness of his lyrics; Ryan Adams takes his listeners down a journey of his inner struggles and frailties, and leaves us with a cold glimpse at tragic beauty. Though I have no idea whether Ryan is Christian or not, in the end, he outlines the human condition so well when sings, “I’m fractured from the fall, and I wanna go home…It takes two when it used to take only one…”. Indeed, on some of the darkest times in my life this has been my confession and petition, that I am a broken creature, and I’m ready to go home to my Lord.

What gets under my skin on this album: I’m only dissapointed in one song, “Halloween Head”, and that is because of his unfortunate use of swear words to illustrate his point. They are absolutely frivolous, providing no sustenance to the song. With that said, the album has too many redeeming qualities to ignore it.

What you’ll notice in these two songs:

1. Sobering lyrics
2. A folk/Americana sound that borders on blue grass/country.
3. A beautiful use of a pedal steel guitar.

Final thoughts: Take a chance, and let me know what you think. Go to iTunes and preview each song, listen to the two songs on here, and then make your decision.

“Two”

“I Taught Myself How to Grow Old”

