Proving once again that reality is much stranger than fiction comes King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters. This documentary chronicles the subculture of world record video gaming, specifically the granddaddy of them all: Donkey Kong.

My wife and I rented it this past weekend to get a few laughs. I did not know I would step into an epic struggle between the forces of light and darkness. Steve Wiebe, good guy dad from Washington state, challenges the evil empire of game recordholders and their dark lord, Billy Mitchell.

It reminded me a little of “Hands on a Hard Body,” but never got old the way watching half of dozen people with their hands on a Nissan truck did for 26 hours. King of Kong was hilarious but it was unexpectedly dramatic. The filmmakers stumbled onto gold when they came upon Steve’s story and knew exactly what to do with it.

I highly recommend it. Evil, thy name is Billy Mitchell.

