Does anyone want to allay my concerns about a President Obama’s intentions?

The presumptive Democratic Nominee declared: “We can’t drive our SUVs and eat as much as we want and keep our homes on 72 degrees at all times … and then just expect that other countries are going to say OK,” Obama said.

Hmmm, I drive an F-150 (I bet that qualifies as a SUV in Obama’s book), I pretty much eat as much as I want (which explains why my belt notches keep changing), and I keep my house in the low seventies pretty much all day long. Obama’s talking about me.

Meanwhile, the candidate’s wife, Michelle Obama, recently stated: “The truth is, in order to get things like universal health care and a revamped education system, then someone is going to have to give up a piece of their pie so that someone else can have more.”

Pie tastes good. I like pie. Pumpkin, coconut, pecan, chocolate, lemon, mmmmm. This goes too far. To paraphrase an old NRA bumper sticker, the Obamas can have my piece of pie when they take it from my cold dead hand.

But seriously, what sort of government do we have when the type of car you drive, the quantity of food you eat, and the temperature you keep your house at are appropriate subjects for Presidential candidates? What kind of view about the State and its role in the life of its citizens does this presume?

This is fascism, pure and simple. It may be wearing a fuzzy bunny suit instead of jackboots and a brown shirt. It may not be building gas chambers. But, this is fascism to be sure.

Please tell me why I am wrong.

