Have you noticed an increasing unwillingness to talk about death in our culture? To sweep it under the rug? To pretend it is not going to happen or just did not happen?

I see this in today’s children’s literature, children’s Bibles, some (not all) “kid” movies, and most of all in the behavior of so many of my fellow parents (indeed, sometimes, myself).

Heck, even the classic bedtime prayer has undergone a revision:

Now I lay me down to sleep
I pray the Lord my soul to keep
When in the morning light I wake
Teach me the path of love to take.

What’s up with that?

I even have a kid’s Bible that omits the Crucifixion! How you like them apples?

Of course, the Bible tells us that death was not something God intended for us. We brought that upon ourselves with the Fall. So, I suppose it is natural to fear something God did not intend for us.

Moreover, it is natural to avoid thinking about that fear if you have no hope for an afterlife.

