One commentator referred to this as the “Purpose-Driven Campaign event.” That is an apt name. This paragraph in Warren’s press release struck me as odd:

“The primaries proved that Americans care deeply about the faith, values, character and leadership convictions of candidates as much as they do about the issues. While I know both men as friends and they recognize I will be frank, but fair, they also know I will be raising questions in these four areas beyond what political reporters typically ask. This includes pressing issues that are bridging divides in our nation, such as poverty, HIV/AIDS, climate and human rights.”

Boy, if I were McCain, I think I would be smelling a rat. This list of “four areas beyond what political reporters typically ask” seems right up Obama’s alley. Apparently, no one cares about the candidates views on California’s establishment of Gay Marriage, abortion, stem cell research?

Moreover, if the “primaries proved that Americans care deeply about the faith, values, character and leadership convictions of candidates as much as they do about the issues,” why isn’t Warren planning on asking the candidates questions that will reveal their faith, values, character, and leadership convictions “beyond what political reporters typically ask.”

I for one would like to hear both candidates give answers in these areas beyond the general platitudes. Obama, especially, seems to be getting a huge pass in this area. Right now, I wouldn’t even buy a car from the guy, much less put him in the Oval Office.

This event reveals more about Warren than it does McCain or Obama.

